Special and Historical Memberships

The membership of the Club has grown significantly since its creation in 1891. The current membership is now over 3,000 and we continue to gain new members every day.

Life Members - "Upon the recommendation of a committee of the President and not less than three past Presidents convened by the President, the Club Committee may elect to Life Membership any Member who has made an outstanding contribution to mountaineering or to the Club." These members are issued with a Gold membership card.

Honorary Members - "Upon the recommendation of the Committee referred to in Rule 5, the Club Committee may elect to Honorary Membership any person distinguished in mountain activities." These members are issued with a Gold membership card.

Veteran 50 Year Members - Those who have remained loyal members of the Club for over 50 years are recognised under this title. These members are issued with a Silver membership card.

Current President and Past Presidents

Section Representatives

Some of Our More Prominent Members

 Cotter, Hillary, Lowe, RiddifordMukat Parbat Team: Cotter, Hillary, Lowe, Riddiford

TBA - information yet to be added

George Band OBE
Bill Beavan (TBA)
Lydia Bradey - 1st woman to summit Everest without oxygen/1st NZ woman
Gottlieb Braun-Elwert (PDF, 464KB)
Ed Cotter 
Mavis Davidson (PDF 5kb)
Austen Deans OBE - NZ WWII artist
Pat Deavoll
Norman Hardie - 1st summit Kangchenjunga
John Harrison
Arthur Paul Harper
Sir Edmund Hillary - 1st summit Everest
George W Lowe
Lindsay Rutherford Stewart
Ebenezer Teichelmann

(more to be added as time permits)