Minutes of the 2010 Annual General Meeting of the New Zealand Alpine Club held

on Friday 15 October 2010 at 7pm at the YMCA, Hereford St, Christchurch

1. Attendance

The President, Peter Cammell, presided over a meeting of 38, which grew to over 50 with latecomers.

2. Apologies:

Steve Schreiber Darryl Carpenter Mark Inglis Shaun Norman Rob Mitchell Richard Davies Gillian Crombie Paul McCullaugh John Nankervis Judy Reid It was moved: **"That the apologies be accepted."** Nick Shearer/John Palmer CARRIED

3. Introduction

The President, Peter Cammell, welcomed all present and noted there would be a debate following the meeting entitled "Should the South Ridge of Mt Cook be named the Hillary Ridge?"

4. Obituaries

Peter Cammell read out a list of Club members known to have died during the past year and a minute's silence was observed by the meeting.

5. Confirmation of Minutes

It was moved: "That the minutes of the 2009 AGM of the Club be accepted as a true and accurate record."

James Wright/Brian Alder CARRIED

There were no matters arising from these minutes.

6. President's Report

Peter Cammell presented his report, summarising key points from the written annual report. In response to questions from the floor, Peter spoke on Access issues and Unwin funding. Peter expressed his thanks to NZAC's partner organizations:

- SPARC, for core funding instruction for the next 3 years
- MSC for instruction, with thanks to Leonce Jones for attending
- FMC, for advocacy
- NZMGA, for instruction
- Canterbury Community Trust, for the HOM loan

7. Financial Report

Ollie Clifton presented the statement of financial position. It was moved: **"That the financial report for the 2009 – 2010 year be adopted."** John Jordan/Chris Short CARRIED

8. Appointment of Auditors

It was moved: "That the auditors Ashton, Wheelans and Hegan be appointed for the coming year."

Peter Cammell/Ross Cullen CARRIED

9. Election of Officers

The following nominations for office bearers were received: Honorary Secretary – Helen Wilton James Wright/Geoff Gabites Honorary Treasurer – Gillian Crombie Geoff Gabites/Ross Cullen Publications Convenor – John Palmer James Wright/ Chris Short Accommodation Convenor – Richard Wesley Tony Clarke/Dave Bamford Executive Subcommittee Convenor – Geoff Gabites John Palmer/ Chris Short All nominations were CARRIED

10. NZAC Volunteer of the Year Award

The ice axe trophy and certificate were awarded this year to Chris Munro of the Auckland Section. The award was presented by Ollie Clifton and accepted on Chris's behalf by Magnus Hammarsal.

11. General Business

There was no general business.

Peter Cammell closed the meeting at 8pm.