Top Nav


How the club is run

Back to the NZAC

The general affairs of the Club are managed by the Club Committee. The members of this Committee are Section Representatives, elected at the Annual General Meetings of their respective Sections. Each Section, depending on their size, has one or more votes on the Club Committee.

The remaining members of the Club Committee are made up from the Honorary Secretary, Honorary Treasurer, Executive Committee Convener and the Convenors of the Club’s Subcommittees. To assist the Club in its administration and activities a number of Subcommittees have been established including Accommodation, Recreational Access, Climbing & Instruction, Publications, Expedition Fund and IT Steering. Each subcommittee is headed by a Convenor overseeing a group of volunteer subcommittee members. The lead positions of the former are elected at the Annual General Meeting of the Club each November.

The final positions are the President, the Immediate Past President and the President-Elect. The President-elect (and hence the President) is appointed by the Club Committee from nominations received from Members. See the Club Rules 11-16. To view the minutes from past AGMs and CCMs, Club Rules and Annual Reports, which are a summary of Club activities for each year, please see the link buttons below.

President 2017-2019: John Palmer
President-Elect 2019-2021: TBA
Executive Committee : Exec Chairperson Responsibilities – Geoff Gabites
Honorary Secretary : Vacant
Honorary Treasurer : Gillian Crombie
Accommodation Committee and Plans: Accm. Convenor Responsibilities – Richard Wesley
Publications Committee and Plans: Pubs. Convenor Responsibilities – Ross Cullen
Climbing and Instruction Committee and Plans: Instrutction Convenor Responsibilities – Position Vacant
Expedition Fund Committee : Exp. Convenor Responsibilities – Paul Knott
Recreational Access Committee : RAC Sustainability Advocate Responsibilities – Shane Orchard
IT Committee : IT Convenor Responsibilities– Erik Bradshaw

Immediate Past President: Penny Brothers
Link to information on: Past Presidents

Club Committee and CCM Minutes National Office – Home of Mountaineering Club Rules
AGM Annual  General Meeting and Annual Report

Our club sections cover eleven regions around the country and our Australian section across the ditch. They are the lifeblood of the Club. They are where climbing trips and instruction courses are run, local gatherings and events held, and friendships formed.

For more information on your local regional section see the ‘Regions’ link on the main menu bar.  The 11 regional sections are located in Auckland, Central North Island, Taranaki, Wellington, Nelson/Marlborough, Canterbury/Westland, South Canterbury, North Otago, Central Otago, Otago, Southland and two overseas sections: Australia and Overseas (which does not have a committee).


Each section has a committee made up of Club members selected annually by their fellow Section Members.  The composition of Section committees and descriptions of the committee positions can be found on the following Section Committees link.

Section Committees

NZAC runs on the efforts of volunteers, so we’re always keen to hear from people who are keen to offer their time and skills to assist the Club. If this sounds like you, contact the team at the Home of Mountaineering, or have a chat with your local section rep.


The Club is affiliated to a number of New Zealand and international organisations, including the Federated Mountain Clubs of New Zealand (FMC), Sport New Zealand, and the Union Internationale Des Associations D’Alpinisme (UIAA).

Affiliated Organisations

Reciprocal Rights are held with many other clubs around the world. The purchase of a reciprocal sticker that attaches to your NZAC membership card will give you access to the participating club’s huts at their member prices.

Reciprocal Rights Overseas


Web Design & Development by Publica